MSC Nastran Excellence Award 2021!

The MSC Nastran Excellence Award aims to recognize our many users around the world.

Submit an Entry

Horizontal spacer

The gold standard in Finite Element Analysis for over 50 years, MSC Nastran is a powerful, tried-and-tested, industrial-grade structural analysis solver. It is the most widely used, extensive, trusted and accurate version of the Nastran solver available in the world.

The MSC Nastran Excellence Award aims to recognize our many users around the world who apply FEA to design everything from planes, trains, automobiles, ships, spacecraft, to any other product you can imagine.


First Place will receive a $1000 Amazon Gift Card (USD) or a donation of equal value to a charity of their choice.

Second and Third place winners will receive a $500 Amazon Gift Card (USD) or a donation of equal value to a charity of their choice.

Prize rules and details

Winning submission criteria:

Winning submissions will be measured in terms of benefits. Benefits such as,

For example, please tell us how you achieved with MSC Nastran increased level of productivity reducing Time-to-Market or achieved another Return on Investment.? Multi-physics (co-simulation) focused applications are welcomed and encouraged.

Submissions can include customer stories, papers presented at conferences, articles appearing in journals and magazines, or any other original work documented in some publicly available form, such as research thesis.

The work must be original and entrants must have authority/permission from their organization to apply. Entries must be submitted in full and include all supporting material (animations/videos/presentations) by the closing date set.

Submit an Entry

Deadline for Submission:
October 1st, 2021

Winner Announcement:
November 1st, 2021


Frequently Asked Questions:

How will I be notified?
You will receive an email to the address you provide on the submission form.

Who will review my submissions?
There will be a panel of judges who will review and rank all entries. The judging committee comprises of industry thought leaders and MSC Nastran technical experts.

May I submit more than one entry?
Of course! You may submit as many entries as you like.

Why should I (and my company/university) participate?
Winning this award will provide excellent exposure for you and your company/university and the advanced design tools and methods used there. It also provides exposure for you within the company and the global CAE design and analyst community.

May I submit on behalf of our entire engineering organization?
You may enter as individuals or as a whole team. If you want to submit on behalf of the team indicate the "XYZ design team under Additional Author." A single award will be presented to the whole team.

What format should entries be in?
Submissions can be in the form of published papers or PowerPoint presentations subject to qualification criteria. Please feel free to submit animations and videos that support your application as appropriate.

How and where will winners be announced?
MSC Software will put out a press release, an announcement on our website with supporting material, an article in our 'Engineering Reality' magazine as well as promoting the winners on relevant media channels. Winners can opt to receive the award and trophy at a suitable local MSC Software Users Conference or Hexagon event/office.

Any other questions please email

Prize rules and details
Runners-up will have their images, videos and descriptions displayed on the Website for the 2021 calendar year. Winners may be required to execute liability/publicity releases prior to issuance of prize. Restrictions, conditions and limitations may apply. Lost, mutilated, or stolen awards will not be replaced. The odds of winning the prize depend on the number of eligible entries received during the Promotion Period. Sponsor reserves the right to substitute prizes of equal or greater value. No other substitution or transfer of prizes permitted.